If you want to become a future Waratah it all starts with junior rugby!


Through its two member unions, Sydney Junior Rugby Union and NSW Country Junior Rugby Union, NSW Junior Rugby Union (NSWJRU) provides structured rugby competitions and representative programs for over 19,000 registered Junior Club players.

NSWJRU represents the largest community rugby group in NSW and is the largest and oldest Junior Union nationally. We take a leading role with policy development for Juniors, the provision of Junior Club Rugby Pathways and strongly encourage the values and traditions of our great game.

Sydney Junior Rugby Union is made up of 12 Districts, with 60 junior clubs competing in the age groups from U6s (minis) to Opens. SJRU is committed to hosting competitions around Sydney to increase activity levels for maximum participation and enjoyment. SJRU encourages juniors to get involved and to develop their skills to reach their ultimate potential in rugby union. To find out more visit juniors.rugby.com.au.

NSW Country Rugby Union encompasses the areas of the state outside the Sydney Metropolitan Area from Lismore and Moree in the north/north west to Shoalhaven in the south and Cobar in the far west. NSWCJRU is made up of 9 Country Junior Zones, with 85 junior clubs which conduct competitions and gala days for more than 9,000 players throughout the season, from U6’s to U18’s, with higher playing honours available through representative programs. To find out more visit countryjuniors.com.au.

Participate in rugby

So you want to play rugby? It's simple to find the club nearest you. Jump onto Australian Rugby Union's find-a-club.

In the community section