News Archive

August 2014

In his second season behind the reins, coach Michael Cheika guided the NSW Waratahs to a Super Rugby title. 

Gay rugby teams from around the world have arrived in Australia to try to win the Bingham Cup from three-time world champions, the Sydney Convicts.

The brand new National Rugby Championship kicks off tomorrow with four teams from NSW battling with five other Australian teams for the inaugural NRC title.

Coming off the back of a productive Limerick campaign, the NSW Waratahs touched down in England for the main event of the invitational World Club Sevens series held at the famous Twickenham stadium.

The NSW rugby community was saddened to learn of the passing of former Waratahs scrumhalf Eric Tindall, who passed away last Monday at the age of 69.

The Woodies have been crowned 2014 Magners Shute Shield Champions, claiming their first title since 2011 with a 33-13 win over Southern Districts today.

Hamish Angus has been voted Shute Shield Player of the Year for 2014. It’s the second time in three seasons that the Warringah flyhalf has taken the Ken Catchpole Medal.

The Ken Catchpole Medal is awarded each season to the Shute Shield Player of the Year.

Southern Districts skipper Jed Holloway is backing his team to secure its first ever Premiership title this weekend, despite being pitted against experienced Eastwood leader Hugh Perrett, who is 10 years his senior.

Kurtley Beale has beaten Bernard Foley to the flyhalf role in a revamped Wallabies line-up for the opening Castrol EDGE Rugby Championship and Bledisloe Cup

The NSW Waratahs took time to settle in their first appearance at the Limerick Sevens but came away with a 24-19 win over Saracens to claim the Shield.

Congratulations to Tracey Deavin from NSW, winner of our Magners Man of the Match competition to win a trip for two to Dublin

The 2014 Grand Finals Day takes place at Concord Oval this Saturday, August 16, with free shuttle buses laid on afterwards to take fans to ANZ Stadium.

Two shock Semi-Final results have seen both the reigning champion Students and minor premiers the Marlins crash out of the Magners Shute Shield.

One question on the mind of all die-hard Waratahs supporters is: what happens to the team after the Super Rugby season is over?

Page 14 of 99First   Previous   9  10  11  12  13  [14]  15  16  17  18  Next   Last   
Enter Keyword
Filter by Category