By NSW Waratahs Media unit

The NSW Rugby Union has announced a new series of Awards to be presented at the 2017 NSW Rugby Awards Night in September.

The awards to the players from the NSW Waratahs including the Matthew Burke Cup will now be incorporated into the evening which will include and recognise the efforts of those involved in community rugby.

The Chief Executive of the NSW Rugby Union Andrew Hore, says that it will be a night that celebrates all achievers in the game.

“It’s not just about recognising the professional players or those playing at the high end of the game, we want to recognise the achievements of those involved in community rugby as well,” said Hore.

“For the first time we’ll bring in the Spirit of Rugby awards for our young players.

“We’ll recognise the efforts of our volunteers and thank the community rugby clubs and their coaches through awards presented on the night of nights for rugby in NSW.

“We’re also opening up the awards for nominations. So if there is someone you know who goes above and beyond for the game in your rugby community, we’re asking you to nominate those who are making a difference in grassroots rugby.

“It might be someone who is refereeing or the ones who run the barbeque every week, we want to give them the praise they deserve and there is a list of awards where we’re asking for nominations.

“We’ll be recognising the individuals and clubs who have contributed the most to rugby in 2017.”

There are eleven new awards now open for nominations:

NSW Rugby Club of the Year Award

Individual Awards – Spirit of Rugby Awards

·         Boys Player of the Year

·         Girls Player of the Year

·         Colts Player of the Year


NSW Volunteer of the Year

·         Youth

·         Seniors


NSW Community Coach of the Year

·         Youth

·         Female

·         Coach (open)


NSW Community Match Official of the Year

·         Young

·         Open


The closing date for all nominations is Monday 14 August, 5pm.

The winner of each award will be invited, along with a guest, to the NSW Awards Dinner on Friday 1 September at The Homestead in Centennial Park, Sydney.

Do you have someone to nominate? Head to:






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: