News Article

Nine Tahs in Bledisloe Cup squad

Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend

By NSW Waratahs Media unit

Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika has named nine NSW Waratahs in his 34-man squad ahead of the first Bledisloe Cup Test in Sydney.

After naming Michael Hooper as Wallabies skipper, Cheika has also named fly-half Bernard Foley as vice-captain alongside scrum-half Will Genia.

Cheika said that both Foley and Genia have stepped up in their leadership roles within the group.

"Will and Bernard are starting to find their voice as real leaders within the team and will be valuable assets to the captain in Michael,” said Cheika.

"They (Will and Bernard) have been selected because both of them are hungry to win and are prepared to keep both themselves and their team to the high standards required to take the Wallabies to be the best."

Foley says he can’t wait to lead behind his Tahs teammate in openside flanker, Michael Hooper.

“Hoops (Hooper) is a remarkable leader, and I believe with the other leaders in the team we can compliment his style and assist him in that responsibility,” he said. 

“It’s a huge personal honour to be vice-captain of this team and I am looking forward to working with all the leaders in this team to ensure the Wallabies elevate to the best we possibly can be.”

Coonamble boy Ned Hanigan will return to the fold after making a sizeable impression during the June series and will be competing against Jack Dempsey for a spot in the starting backrow.

‘Scrum Doctor’ Tom Robertson will partner Sekope Kepu up front in the engine room while hooker Tolu Latu takes a back seat after being ruled out from injury.

Kurtley Beale will reunite with fellow NSW backs Israel Folau, Nick Phipps and Bernard Foley in the lead up to the first Bledisloe on August 19.

All Bledisloe Cup matches will be screened LIVE in High Definition and ad-break free during play on FOX SPORTS and will be available to stream via Foxtel Go (for Foxtel subscribers).

The three Bledisloe Cup Tests will also be screened LIVE in High Definition on TEN and WIN Network and on

All domestic Wallabies Tests will be broadcast LIVE on Radio.

Bledisloe Cup training camps

Cessnock, NSW, Aug 6-11
Penrith, NSW, Aug 13-18

2017 Bledisloe Cup

Qantas Wallabies v New Zealand at ANZ Stadium, Sydney, 19th August, 8.00pm AEST
New Zealand v Qantas Wallabies at Forsyth Stadium, Dunedin, 26th August, 5.30pm AEST
Qantas Wallabies v New Zealand at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, 21st October, 8pm AEDT


Wallabies 34-man squad for the opening Bledisloe Cup clash, Sydney, August 19

Allan Alaalatoa, 12 Tests, Brumbies
Rory Arnold, 12 Tests, Brumbies
Adam Coleman, 12 Tests, Western Force
Jack Dempsey, 1 Test, NSW Waratahs
Kane Douglas, 31 Tests, Queensland Reds
Tetera Faulkner, 2 Tests, Western Force
Ned Hanigan, 3 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Michael Hooper (c), 68 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Sekope Kepu, 80 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Adam Korczyk*, Queensland Reds
Sean McMahon, 15 Tests, Melbourne Rebels
Stephen Moore, 120 Tests, Queensland Reds
Tatafu Polota-Nau, 71 Tests, Western Force
Tom Robertson, 9 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Izack Rodda*, Queensland Reds
Rob Simmons, 71 Tests, Queensland Reds
Scott Sio, 32 Tests, Brumbies
Lopeti Timani, 7 Tests, Melbourne Rebels
Jordan Uelese*, Melbourne Rebels

Kurtley Beale, 60 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Israel Folau, 55 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Bernard Foley (vc), 45 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Will Genia (vc), 78 Tests
Dane Haylett-Petty, 17 Tests, Western Force
Reece Hodge, 13 Tests, Melbourne Rebels
Samu Kerevi, 8 Tests, Queensland Reds
Marika Koroibete*, Melbourne Rebels
Tevita Kuridrani, 47 Tests, Brumbies
Billy Meakes*, Western Force
Izaia Perese*, Queensland Reds
Nick Phipps, 52 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Joe Powell, 2 Tests, Brumbies
Curtis Rona*, Western Force
Henry Speight, 12 Tests, Brumbies
*denotes uncapped player

Latest News

Hewson to return as Wallaroos side named for fifth-place semi
Wallaroos Head Coach Paul Verrell has named seven NSW women in his side to face Ireland in Belfast for their fifth-place semi-final. Read full article...

Northern Suburbs will be out to defend their 2016 premiership title while the Warringah Rats will be determined to secure their first victory since 2005 in Saturday’s Shute Shield Grand Final to be played at North Sydney Oval.

Read full article...
Shute Shield Grand Finalists decided
The Shute Shield grand finalists for 2017 have been decided after a big weekend of semi-finals footy, with 2016 victors Norths set to play Warringah next weekend. Read full article...