Young backrowers named for Boks clash


By NSW Waratahs Media unit

Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika has made four changes to the starting side ahead of Saturday’s Rugby Championship Test against the Springboks in Perth.

NSW Waratahs backrower Jack Dempsey has been included in the match day 23 and is in line for his second Wallabies Cap. The Gordon boy replaces Lopeti Timani on the bench.

Michael Hooper will lead out the Aussies at nib Stadium for his 71st test alongside fellow New South Welshman and country boy, Ned Hanigan. Sekope Kepu will come back into the starting side in the number three jersey.

Bernard Foley will lead the backline from flyhalf, while homecoming NSW back Kurtley Beale will sit just outside him in the centres and Israel Folau behind at fullback.

Young prop Tom Robertson will make his impact off the bench alongside potential Test debutant and Melbourne hooker, Jordan Uelese.

The recently-signed Rob Simmons will sit at replacement lock alongside Dempsey, who will don the number 20 jersey. Nick Phipps has been selected as replacement scrumhalf behind the starting Will Genia.

For this third Rugby Championship match, 10 NSW Waratahs have been included in the match day side, bringing 461 international caps-worth of experience to the team.

The two sides last met in Perth in 2014 as Australia snuck home for a memorable 24-23 win, thanks to a last-gasp try from Rob Horne.

Saturday night's clash will be screened on FOX SPORTS 501 and on TEN/WIN Networks from 7.30pm AEST.

Qantas Wallabies team to play South Africa at nib Stadium, Perth on Saturday 9 September, 6.00pm local time

1. Scott Sio (34 Tests)
2. Tatafu Polota-Nau (73 Tests)
3. Sekope Kepu (82 Tests)
4. Rory Arnold (14 Tests)
5. Adam Coleman (13 Tests)
6. Ned Hanigan (5 Tests)
7. Michael Hooper (c) (70 Tests)
8. Sean McMahon (17 Tests)
9. Will Genia (80 Tests)
10. Bernard Foley (47 Tests)
11. Reece Hodge (15 Tests)
12. Kurtley Beale (62 Tests)
13. Tevita Kuridrani (49 Tests)
14. Henry Speight (14 Tests)
15. Israel Folau (57 Tests)

16. Jordan Uelese*
17. Tom Robertson (11 Tests)
18. Allan Alaalatoa (14 Tests)
19. Rob Simmons (73 Tests)
20. Jack Dempsey (1 Test)
21. Nick Phipps (53 Tests)

22. Samu Kerevi (9 Tests)
23. Curtis Rona (1 Test) 






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: