Simmons to start in Puma's clash


By NSW Waratahs Media unit

Michael Cheika has made just one change to his Wallabies line-up for Saturday night's match against the Argentina Puma’s in Canberra. In total, seven NSW Waratahs players have been included in the starting XV with a further three to be injected into the game from the bench.

Newly signed NSW Waratah Rob Simmons comes back into the starting line-up replacing Rory Arnold, for his 75th test match. Simmons will be joined in the tight five by Waratah's prop and Wallabies 83 game veteran Sekope Kepu.

NSW Waratahs' Matthew Burke Cup winner and Wallabies Michael Hooper was inspirational as always last week and will lead the Wallabies again at GIO Stadium in the nation’s capital. Hooper will be joined by Waratah’s blindside flanker Ned Hanigan in the backrow.

Kurtley Beale has been in a purple patch of form since returning to Australia and will look to continue his outstanding connection with fellow Waratah and Wallaby vice-captain Bernard Foley. Israel Folau will be looking to capitalise on the great form of both Foley and Beale in the mid-field to create problems for the Puma’s edge defence.

NSW Waratah’s players Tom Robertson, Jack Dempsey and Nick Phipps will be looking to have an impact off the bench this Saturday night.

Catch all the action live on Fox Sports 501 from 7:20 pm AEST or on Channel Ten and WIN Network from 7:30pm

Team to Face Argentina at GIO Stadium: 

1. Scott Sio (35 Tests)

2. Tatafu Polota-Nau (74 Tests)
3. Sekope Kepu (83 Tests)
4. Rob Simmons (74 Tests)
5. Adam Coleman (14 Tests)
6. Ned Hanigan (6 Tests)
7. Michael Hooper (c) (71 Tests)

8. Sean McMahon (18 Tests)
9. Will Genia (vc) (81 Tests)
10. Bernard Foley (vc) (48 Tests)
11. Reece Hodge (16 Tests)
12. Kurtley Beale (63 Tests)
13. Tevita Kuridrani (50 Tests)
14. Henry Speight (15 Tests)
15. Israel Folau (58 Tests)

16. Jordan Uelese (1 Test)
17. Tom Robertson (12 Tests)
18. Allan Alaalatoa (15 Tests)
19. Izack Rodda (1 Test)
20. Jack Dempsey (2 Tests)
21. Nick Phipps (54 Tests)
22. Samu Kerevi (10 Tests)
23. Marika Koroibete*






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: