NSW Waratahs open their 2018 Super Rugby campaign at home


By NSW Waratahs Media unit

The NSW Waratahs will open their 2018 Super Rugby season with a home match against the Stormers at Allianz Stadium on the 24th of February. 

SANZAAR has released the Super Rugby draw for 2018 with the Waratahs scheduled to play eight games at home.

NSW will play 16 conference matches, eight of which will be against teams in the Australian conference and four matches against teams from each of the other two conferences.

The NSW Waratahs hit the road early with a trip to South Africa in week three to play the Sharks and continue on to play the Jaguares in Argentina the following week.

In week eight of the competition the team will travel to Tokyo to play the Sunwolves, who are now competing in the Australian conference.

Head Coach Daryl Gibson says it will benefit the ‘Tahs campaign to get the travel out of the way early in the season.

“It’s a similar start to 2017 in the way that we get the big travel legs out of the way early with the trips to Durban and Buenos Aires,” he said.

The NSW Waratahs have two byes in the season during weeks six and eleven.

“The byes come quite evenly throughout the year, they are nicely spread out giving us a week off in important times of the season,” Gibson said.

NSW will play every team in the competition at least once with the exception of the Hurricanes from New Zealand and the Bulls form South Africa, a challenge that Gibson is excited by.

“To be the best you must be able to beat everyone, we get to challenge ourselves against nearly everyone in this regular season.” Gibson said.

The NSW Waratahs will close the season with two home games in Sydney with the final game being against the Brumbies.

“We have the luxury of finishing our season strongly with two home games at Allianz Stadium heading into the finals series” Gibson said.

To download the eCal, follow this link.

The 2018 Vodafone Super Rugby draw for the NSW Waratahs is:


Note: TBC's are due to venue bookings, which we are working through with Allianz Stadium and we'll confirm shortly.

Australian Conference:

Brumbies, Rebels, Reds, Waratahs, Sunwolves


New Zealand Conference:

Blues, Chiefs, Crusaders, Highlanders, Hurricanes


South African Conference:

Bulls, Lions, Sharks, Stormers, Jaguares







An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: