NSW Women are national champions


By NSW Rugby Media

In a thrilling day of Rugby Sevens in Bendigo, NSW Blue has won the Women’s National title with Queensland Red defeating Queensland White in a tense Men's Final to be claimed respective 2017 Champions.

In the Women’s Championship Final, NSW Blue shot out to an early lead and were able to hold back a strong Queensland outfit and take the match 24-5 with a brace of tries from Katie Harrison putting the NSW side out of site from Queensland.

In the Men’s Championship Final it was to be an all Queensland affair but the lesser fancied Queensland White didn’t let the occasion get to them, shooting out to an early lead and holding it for the half time break.

Some individual brilliance from Queensland Red’s Jeral Skelton and Josh Coward allowed Queensland Red to take the advantage away from Queensland White and ultimately win the Championship 26-19 after scores had been locked at 19 all.

There were stars aplenty from the Wallaroos and Aon University Sevens Series that starred in the Women’s competition across the two days and it proved that the extra experience gained from the inaugural competition lifted the standard of play at the Nationals this year.

Courtney Hodder from the National Indigenous side was named player of the tournament.

The National Youth Sevens Championship kicks off in Brisbane at Ballymore Stadium on December 9 where Australian coaches and scouts will be looking to unearth the next Olympic Rugby Sevens talent.







An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: