Naiyaravoro to start for Baa Baas against Tonga


By NSW Waratahs Media unit


Bruising NSW winger Taqele Naiyaravoro has been named to start for Robbie Deans’ Barbarians side to face Tonga in Ireland for their second match of a UK Tour.

The Baa-Baas gave the All Blacks a run for their money last weekend, managing to notch up a 17-10 halftime lead before NZ came home strong to defeat the invitational side, 31-22.

Naiyaravoro makes his way into the side for the first time since his two-try effort at Allianz Stadium against the Wallabies in late October.

Joining the flying Fijian is fellow Australian and Melbourne Rebel, Nic Stirzaker, who will also start for the Baa-Baas at scrumhalf.

The Barbarians will face Tonga at Limerick’s Thomond Park on Saturday 11 November at 3:45AM AEDT (Friday 10 November, 4:45PM local time).


Barbarians squad to verse Tonga:

1.  James Cronin

2.  Akker van der Merwe

3.  Brian Scott

4.  Geoff Parling ©

5.  Quinn Roux

6.  Jordi Murphy

7.  Simone Favaro

8.  Willie Britz

9.  Nic Stirzaker

10. Robert du Preez

11. Vince Aso

12. Harold Vorster

13. Richard Buckman

14. Taqele Naiyaravoro

15. George Bridge


16. Adriaan Strauss

17. Jacques van Rooyen

18. Ruan Smith

19. Donncha O’Callaghan

20. John Muldoon

21. Andy Ellis

22. David Smith

23. Sam Carter






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: